The Skilled Independent Visa (subclass 189) (New Zealand) stream is for New Zealand Special Category (subclass 444) visa holders who have shown a commitment and contribution to Australia to apply for permanent residence.

New Zealand citizens who are granted this permanent visa will be eligible to apply for Australian citizenship after 12 months (in addition to holding a Special Category visa for a period of five consecutive years).

If you are not a New Zealand citizen you may be eligible to apply for the Skilled Independent visa (subclass 189) (Points-tested) stream.

Who is eligible for an Independent Skilled Visa (Subclass 189)?

There is no age requirement for the 189 New Zealand visa pathway. You must hold a Special Category Visa (subclass 444) but your family members may hold any visa. You must have been usually resident in Australia for a continuous period of five years immediately prior to application, and have commenced that period of usual residence on or before 19 February 2016.

You must have a taxable income at or above an income threshold for each income year in the five years prior to lodging an application (unless claiming an exemption).

Your taxable income must have exceeded the following thresholds:
  1. 2012/2013: AUD$51,000
  2. 2013/2014: AUD$53,900
  3. 2014/2015: AUD$53,900
  4. 2015/2016: AUD$53,900
  5. 2016/2017: AUD$53,900

Benefits of the Independent Skilled Visa (Subclass 189)

This visa provides immediate permanent residency to the applicant and his or her immediate family who accompany them on their application.

Visa Charges

    Visa Charges can be found here.

Looking for a different Skilled Visa?

There are several other skilled visas available: